Dutch Network of Women Professors honours two female researchers from Leiden

Eveline Crone and Beatrice de Graaf will receive the LNVH Anniversary Prize from the Dutch Network of Women Professors (LNVH) on the occasion of its ten-year anniversary. From 175 entries a jury of eminent academics selected the four most outstanding ones. The other two winners are attached to TU Delft and Maastricht University.


The aim of the LNVH Anniversary Prize is to focus extra attention on the wealth of female academic talent in the Netherlands. LNVH Chair Els Goulmy says, ‘Don’t you think it should go without saying that female talent is also spotted, not to mention put to good use and given proper support?’ The four women who will now receive the LNVH Anniversary Prize all have an impressive track record at a young age.

Eveline Crone

Eveline Crone

Eveline Crone

Eveline Crone (1975) is a full professor of Developmental Psychology at Leiden University and at the University of Amsterdam (UvA), and has collected an impressive number of prizes including both a Veni and a Vidi from NWO, an ERC Starting Grant and the Early Career Award 2011 from the Society for Psychophysiological Research. Crone set up the Brain & Development laboratory at Leiden in 2005. With her group she researches brain development in children and adolescents. In 2010, she was appointed as a member of the NWO’s Dutch Programme Council for Educational Research, a prestigious appointment. In 2009-2010 she chaired the Young Academy. In 2008 she wrote her bestseller Het puberende brein (The brain in puberty) that has has numerous re-prints.

Beatrice de Graaf

Beatrice de Graaf

Beatrice de Graaf

Beatrice de Graaf (1976) is a senior university lecturer and the joint founder of the Centre for Terrorism and Counterterrorism at Leiden University’s Campus The Hague. She is a pioneer in the field of national security and international relations and therefore serves as an example. In her research she combines historical insights with analyses of current political developments. With her team she is working on a Virtual Research Environment of national security measures in the historical and international perspective. De Graaf sits on a number of different committees and boards and makes her academic understanding accessible to a broader public, for example, with ‘Theater van de angst’ (Theatre of fear) her analysis of counterterrorism that was published in 2010.

Other winners

The other two prizes went to the Delft professor of Biophysics Nynke Dekker (1971) and Ester Lutgens (1975), adjunct professor by special appointment of Pathology at Maastricht University and LMU University Munich, who is now continuing her career at the University of Amsterdam.

Hidden talent

The jury was very impressed by the female potential, ‘To begin with, I have to say how impressed I am with the number and level of entries. If anyone ever complains again about insufficient female talent in the Netherlands I now have enough arguments to refute that’, commented jury member Piet Borst. Besides Piet Borst, the jury consisted of Marise Born, Frances Brazier, Els Goulmy, Aafke Hulk, Marita Mathijsen, Peter Nijkamp and Wim van Saarloos. Ronald Plasterk chaired the jury.

LNVH Anniversary Prizes

The LNVH Anniversary Prizes were awarded as a one-off and represent a sum of EUR 5,000. The Anniversary Prizes are intended for female academics who were awarded their PhD no more than ten years ago and who hold a leading position at a Dutch research organisation. The prizes will be awarded during the LNVH anniversary celebration on 6 October 2011, when the LNVH will be ten years old.

About the LNVH

The Dutch Network of Women Professors began informally in the 1990s and became a foundation on 9 August 2001. The LNVH is a network of more than 600 female professors (83% of all female professors) from all disciplines and from all universities and research institutions in the Netherlands. Since March 2010, female associate professors have also been able to join. The LNVH strives for a proportionate representation of women within the university community. The LNVH is supported by the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) and the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science (OCW).

See also

Last Modified: 08-09-2011